top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenna van Bentum

#LocalTourist

I enjoy seeing a good tourist attraction but possibly not in the same way that most people do. For example, I’m not one to queue for hours, get through security and cram into a lift to go up the Eiffel Tower. Instead with a few good cheeses, a baguette or two and a nice bottle of wine, I would sit under it for hours and marvel at its beauty while the kids play around us. (Don’t get me wrong, to go up the Eiffel Tower is a magical experience but if tickets aren’t pre-booked then I prefer the other option!) While I’m there I look around and I notice that most of the people sitting nearby are not tourists but #LocalTourist’s just enjoying their own city. I not only see kids that are traveling but local kids playing on the playgrounds that line the Seine river and those same local kids having a go on the merry-go-round with the Eiffel Tower as their view. I love this!

So what is a #LocalTourist?


It is exactly what is says really, being a tourist in your local city/town/area/place. Exploring where it is that you live and taking your kids on that journey too. I have people say to me all the time that they wish they could travel like we do but with money and time being a factor they just can’t do it right now. Trust me, we can’t always travel either. My response is always the same – ‘then become the best #LocalTourist that you can!’ Your city has so much to offer, you just need to put your ‘tourist glasses’ on and set out as if you’ve traveled across the oceans to get there.

We live in beautiful Sydney, Australia and people literally do travel across the oceans to visit our stunning city. We have an amazing zoo where the giraffes have a prime view and a harbour that hosts the worlds best New Years Eve fireworks every single year. People pay a lot of money to climb our majestic bridge, but when was the last time you got fish and chips and just sat under it while the sun goes down and the city lights come on? Our great city has so many events and festivals as well as beautiful landscape to explore.

The World ANd Kids Sydney Harbour Bridge

My kids love our city and love to explore it. It not only teaches them about where we live but it also prepares them to travel throughout the rest of the world. You can teach them how to catch public transport, how to appreciate our own history and what parts of the world we are influenced by, even try international foods without getting on a plane!

So with the weekend merely hours away, why not plan to take the kids out to explore and become a #LocalTourist.

We would love to see what you get up too when touring your local area so share your pics with us by tagging #LocalTourist #TheWorldAndKids

Happy Friday friends and have a great weekend!

Jen x




Sign up to receive my blog and newsletter straight to your inbox. Can you keep up with The World And Kids?

Email Address





Share this:

0 views0 comments
bottom of page